Action packed BM 10k

Alyson Dixon

An intriguing tussle is in prospect for the second BM10K which takes place Sunday 12 April as part of the Brighton Marathon Weekend.

The fastest man in the field is Scot Andrew Lemoncello (handicap -3.3) (28:47) but Matthew Hynes (handicap -4.7) is an experienced 10km exponent and could well offer a stern test over the super fast Brighton course.

The Gateshead harrier broke through the 30min barrier three years ago and has steadily progressed since, posting his career best time of 29:23 last autumn in Leeds.

Other serious contendedrs for the title are Southend’s Adam Hickey (handicap -5.4) , who stormed to a top-ten finish in December’s Euro Cross championships and Morpeth’s Jonathan Taylor (handicap -4.7), second fastest in the field.

Local interest is provided by Jon Pepper (handicap -3.9) of Brighton Phoenix who racked up his fourth Sussex county cross country title in a row two weeks ago.

The BM10K course record stands to Nick McCormick (handicap -3.4) with 29:11 from 2014.

A Brighton favourite, Sunderland’s Alyson Dixon (handicap -0.3) returns to defend her BM10K title but will have her hands full to cope with seasoned competitor, Preston’s Helen Clitheroe (handicap -0.8)  and Euro Cross team gold medallist Steph Twell (handicap -1.0).

With three out of the top four in the rankings for this distance last year on the start line, Dixon’s course record of 32:35 is likely to go.

Leeds City’s Emma Clayton (handicap 4.3), sixth in last year’s European mountain running championships, will be pitching to dip under 33min for the first time.

The Brighton Marathon weekend begins on Friday 10 April with the two-day action packed Exhibition in the Brighton Centre.

Saturday sees the Mini Mile Races in Preston Park (11.00am start) and the weekend culminates on Sunday with the BM10K and the Marathon.

The Brighton Marathon is an IAAF Bronze Label event.


2015 BM10K leading entries (with 10k road PBs)


Andy Lemoncello (28:47)

Jonathan Taylor (29:13)

Matt Hynes (29:23)

Jon Pepper (29:44)

Adam Hickey (29:53)


Helen Clitheroe (31:45)

Steph Twell (32:28)

Aly Dixon (32:35)

Emma Clayton (33:49)