Athletics in the running for the 2019 Sports Personality of the year

Katarina Johnson Thompson

A shortlist of six contenders has been announced for the 2019 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award that will take place tonight Sunday15 December.

The nominees include athletes Dina Asher-Smith and Katarina Johnson-Thompson, with other sports being represented by Alun Wyn Jones Ben Stokes, Lewis Hamilton and Raheem.

Voting will be open to the public during the Sports Personality programme on BBC One, which will be broadcast from Aberdeen in Scotland.

Dina Asher-Smith  is the first British woman to win a global sprint title as she claimed world 200m gold in a new British record time of 21.88 seconds. She also picked up silver medals in the 100m and 4x100m relay. More detail are here.

Katarina Johnson-Thompson, finally got the global outdoor gold she has promised by winning the heptathlon at the World Athletics Championships. On the centre stage she set four personal bests as her points tally broke Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill's British record. More detail are here.