Record-breaker David Weir set for 20th consecutive London Marathon

David Weir

David Weir – the most successful athlete in the history of the London Marathon – will return to the race for a remarkable 20th consecutive year in the 2019 Virgin Money London Marathon on Sunday 28 Apil.

Weir, who started his wheelchair racing career in the Mini London Marathon, has won the Virgin Money London Marathon on a record-breaking eight occasions.

His first London Marathon was in 2000 when he finished fifth at the age of 19. Two years later, in 2002, he won the event for the first time. Further victories came in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2017 and 2018.

Weir said: “It’s amazing to be getting ready for my 20th race at the 2019 Virgin Money London Marathon. It has been an incredible journey from my first London Marathon back in 2000 and I feel very proud that I have not missed a single race since that very first one.

“Every year I say to myself that even if I only do one race, it has got to be the London Marathon. It is such a special event for me.”

As well as his eight London Marathon wins, 39-year-old Weir has won six Paralympic gold medals and recently announced his intention to target further success at the Tokyo Olympics in 2020.

In the women’s wheelchair race, defending champion Madison De Rozario of Australia will return to the Virgin Money London Marathon.

De Rozario won last year’s race just a week after winning the Commonwealth Games marathon.

The full list of participants in the men’s and women’s elite wheelchair races will be announced soon.