Jemma Reekie and Jake Wightman win 2020 British Athletics Writers Association awards

Jemma Reekie indoors

Jemma Reekie (running handicap -2.2) and Jake Wightman (handicap -7.1) were among the winners in the annual British Athletics Writers Association (BAWA) Awards. Reekie set British indoor 800m, 1500m and mile records, while Wightman moved to second on the runbritain all-time 1500m rankings after an inspired run in Monaco.

For Reekie, the 1:57.91 clocking over 800m indoors in Glasgow was the fastest indoor time in the world since 2006.  She won the Cliff Temple Award for Female British Athlete of the Year.

At the Diamond League meeting in Monaco, Wightman produced one of the best 1500m displays ever seen from a British athlete. His time of 3:29.47 placed him only behind Sir Mo Farah (handicap -7.1), and moved him ahead of Steve Cram, Sebastian Coe and Steve Ovett. He claimed the John Rodda Award for Male British Athlete of the Year.

The junior prizes were awarded to Max Burgin (handicap -5.6) and Keely Hodgkinson (handicap -1.8) who contributed to an excellent year for endurance athletes in the UK.

Burgin, who impressed with an 800m PB of 1:44.75,  won the Jim Coote Memorial Award for Junior Male.

At the Muller British Athletics Championships in Manchester, Hodgkinson sealed her first senior 800m title. The 18-year-old showed quality and maturity to take home the gold medal. She finishes the year with the Lillian Board Memorial Award for Junior Female.

The prestigious Ron Pickering Memorial Award for Services to Athletics was awarded to former UK Athletics major events director Cherry Alexander, while the the Vikki Orvice Inspiration Award was presented to distance running legend Ron Hill.

Find out all the BAWA awards winners and read more, here.